Sweet Apple Pie



Pisces
04 Jan 2005
get yours
C'mon. Gimme a Smack!
name

url or email

smack it like you mean it!(smilies)

Blogwise - blog directory

Blogarama - The Blog Directory

Reading is Power!

02.26.2005 - 12:22 p.m.

leprechaun preparations are being made now.... sightings coming soon!!!

but in the meantime, its all about winn dixie. i read the book to my children, and yesterday (friday, 2/25) i took the my students to see the movie. well it was wednesday when i realized that we still had about 10 chapters to go. my oh my and thursday i took care of 6 and the trip was FRIDAY!!!

yikes! i was telling the children on thurs afternoon, "we've GOT to finish this book. what are we going to do?!?!?"

and zeke says, "well ms. swtapplpie, you could just come to school really early and pick us up from the library earlier than 8 and we'll read ALL MORNING!!"

he was so serious and enthralled with that book, it was great.....not to mention he's one of my lowest readers...

well friends. i didn't pick them up early, but the movie started at 9:30 rather than 8:30 so we had some time at the beginning of the day to cut out the last 4 chapters....

at the end of the book, everyone that little opal has met in the town comes to her garden party at gloria dump's house. opal's dad is the town's preacher and he offers a prayer. i always read with my different character voices, and with the deepest southern preachery voice i said....

"DEAR GOD..."

4 of my children bow their heads...i almost bust out but keep on going.

"WE THANK YOU THIS EVENING..."

zeke being the off-task booger he is, is assigned to sit right at my feet. i glance at him and he's got his hands clasped looking up at the ceiling...each time "I" (or the preacher rather) thank God for something, you see his little eyes thinking for a moment and then he nods his head in agreeance...

"IN CHRIST'S HOLY NAME WE PRAY, AMEN."

and chorally my class says "AMEN!"

....and that my friends, is the truest story i've ever told on Diaryland.com....


Baked - In the Oven